Skip to content

Tragedy at Christmas

December 24, 2012

When I was shopping for Christmas gifts for my children this year, I was reminded of our troubled economy.  While my children are not deprived and have their needs met, I would love to provide much more for them at Christmas.  However, as soon as I started to think of the things that I could not provide, I was reminded of how good I really have it this Christmas.

Christmas in the hospital

First, I think of my last Christmas, which I spent in the hospital with one of my sons.  He has severe eczema and had acquired a secondary infection, which led to a four day stay in the hospital.  However, even that is something for which I can be thankful.

Christmas in poverty

One of the reasons I am blessed this Christmas is that I have access to basic needs and services.  My last Christmas would have been so much worse if there were no doctors to help my son.  I was grateful for both doctors and good facilities to care for him when I couldn’t personally provide the care he needed.

There are many people around the world who don’t have access to doctors, electricity, good water, or many of the other things I often take for granted.

Christmas in tragedy

Another reason that I have at this Christmas season for being grateful is that I have children.  There are many people, particularly in Newtown, Connecticut, who are living with tragedy this Christmas.  I cannot fathom the depth of their pain.  I cannot begin to properly comfort or commemorate those who died in the shootings at Sandy Hook Elementary.  Their loss makes my outlook, my situation, seem very appealing.

There has been much talk of how we should act in order to properly commemorate those tragic events.  While I understand that we should learn from what happened, and I agree that we should be concerned with the current state of affairs, I think that we also  should allow those who are living with tragedy, sorrow, and heartbreak this Christmas season time to properly greave.

Let us not be guilty of using their loss to advance our personal agendas.  Let us be careful not to use it for personal gain.  Let us, rather, do our best to comfort and stand with those who are suffering loss at this time of year.

Christmas is a tremendously joyful time of year, particularly if you are celebrating a new birth or marriage or other happy event in the family.  However, if you are suffering the loss of a loved one, Christmas can be a horribly devastating time.

Christmas with family

Let us resolve at this Christmas season to be thankful for the many blessings we have.  Let  us be grateful for our many blessings.  Let us take the time to enjoy our families, and to let them know how much we love and appreciate them – we won’t have them forever.  Let us make memories with friends and family, and remember the real reason for the season.

I wish you a Very Merry Christmas filled with family, fun and friends,

Dave

From → Politics

Leave a Reply

