Skip to content

Post produce – Lettuce, Cucumbers, and berries

June 22, 2012

What’s been growing in my garden?

So it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve posted anything but pictures from my garden.  I’ve been busy at work, and busy trying to keep my garden in good shape.  Here is a brief update, with a couple of pictures from today’s harvest.

The good (from my garden)- Cucumbers and Lettuce

We just harvested the first of my cucumbers.  I think that I will have many more in the next few weeks.  I really hadn’t expected to get them quite this early since I planted rather late, but I’m not complaining with early production.

Cucumber from my tiny kitchen garden

The first of my cucumbers this year

My lettuce has also been a bright spot.  We’ve been enjoying a good “batch” of Romaine roughly once a week for the last three weeks.  I’m not sure how much more I can expect to get out of it, but I’m thoroughly enjoying it so far.

Lettuce from my tiny kitchen garden

My fourth harvest of lettuce. This is growing in a plastic tub from Aldi’s.

Finally, still on the bright side, there are the berries.  While I can’t claim to have planted them or cultivated them, we have really been enjoying them.  This is the second time we’ve picked berries from the bushes on the back of our lot – it appears that a local bear may be enjoying them too, but I haven’t seen him recently.

Raspberries near my tiny kitchen garden

I filled a large cereal bowl with raspberries. I’m guessing I had about three cups.

The bad (from my garden)

Disappointing right now are the cantaloupe that I planted.  I thought that they were taking off and would do well, but they have suddenly (over the last two days) shriveled up and are starting to go brown.  I think that this is a result of the nearby walnut trees, since I haven’t seen anything else that would disturb them.  I’m considering going to all raised beds next year simply because of the plenteous walnut trees on the lot next to mine.

The ugly (from my garden)

The most disappointing thing from my garden now is my green beans.  Two weeks ago they looked great and were slightly ahead of schedule.  Then, I got home one evening to find that the tops had been eaten off of them.  I’m not certain, but I think I have the local deer population to blame for that.  They had started to make a comeback, but they’ve been eaten off again this week.  I’ve tried several things to keep critters out, but with no success yet.  I’m starting to wonder if I’m going to get anything from my green beans this year.

I’ve learned a lot already this year from my garden.  I’m enjoying (some of) the fruits from it already.  I hope that next years will be a lot better.

Thanks for reading,

Dave

From → From the Garden

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

