Skip to content

Tiger Lily – Remembering my Grandmother

June 11, 2012
Tiger Lily from my garden

Beautiful Tiger Lily inspires memories

Remembering Grandmother’s love of flowers

While I cannot take credit for planting these, I have been enjoying them for about three years now since I moved to my current home.  This is the first bloom on our Tiger Lilies this year, and the first thing I thought of when I saw it was my Grandmother, who passed away just over two years ago.

While I don’t want to dwell right now on the more painful memories of our loss, I was reminded of Grandmother’s love of color and flowers.  As long as I could remember, she had flowers sitting on the front porch, back porch, hanging from an old swing-set that had been re-purposed, along the ledge by the garage, and in any other place she could find to put them.  She loved flowers.

Grandmother also showed me how you could keep plants that were supposed to be annuals by simply providing light, water and warmth for them through the winter.  She moved the majority of her plants into the basement when the weather grew cold.  Impatiens particularly seemed to like this.

Remembering Grandmother’s love of color

When I grew older, I remember taking a couple of trips with my Grandparents, and I always loved riding the country roads with Grandmother.  She loved the bright hues of the Tiger Lilies and the Dogwoods particularly, but she noticed and remarked on almost anything colorful along the way.  In fact, she was the only person I know of who decorated her living room in bright red and kept it that way for as long as I could remember.

From my Grandmother I learned to notice and enjoy at least some of the wonderful colors around me, especially in nature.  I’m grateful for the time I got to spend with her.

Thanks for reading,

Dave

From → From the Garden

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

