Skip to content

Merry Christmas

December 22, 2011

In the last couple of days, a lot has happened in our home.  My youngest son was hospitalized with a secondary infection, my oldest finished the first half of his kindergarten year, my brother finished his first semester of computer classes.  My brother-in-law finished his semester of masters classes, and I completed my third decade on terra firma.

In the midst of all these happenings, it would be easy to forget the reason for Christmas.  The hospitalization in particular has turned my world upside-down.  However, after this afternoon’s nap, I was reminded of some of my many blessings.

First, I am thankful for the general good health of my family.  Yes, my son is in the hospital, but I often think how glad I am that our problem have so far only been skin related.  It is always easy to find someone who’s problems are worse than yours.  My boys have healthy minds and (for the most part) bodies too.  My health is good, and so is that of my wife, and I have much for which to be thankful.

 

Second, I am thankful to be an American.  I know that our country has problem and that they are not small ones.  However, I only have to listen to the news for a couple of minutes to realize that there are many countries in the world with worse problems than ours.  While I “preach” political involvement to solve problems, I realize that our system of government and the freedoms we enjoy are in many ways superior to most of the world.

Last, and most important actually, I am thankful for The Gift, Jesus Christ.  No other gift has had half as big an impact on the world, or on my life.  I am so glad to know Jesus at this, and any other time of the year.

As we give and receive our gifts this year, lets remember the blessings we have and the Gift we received 2000 years ago.

Merry Christmas,

Dave

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

