Skip to content

Gone Hunting

December 12, 2011

Sometime back in July I started preparing for this year’s rifle hunting season.  I went in to Wal-Mart, waited my turn at the sporting goods counter, and purchase a Pennsylvania Resident’s hunting license.  At the appropriate time, I sent in for a doe tag, and for a bonus doe tag.   These arrived finally after much anxious waiting.

On the trip to visit my in-laws for Thanksgiving, I stopped at a second Wal-Mart, and purchased shells for my rifle.  On Saturday, I went out and fired my gun a couple of times to make sure the scope was sighted in correctly.  Now I was prepared for the first day of fire-arms deer season.

The day finally arrived, and I made my way into the woods(about 45 minutes before daylight) and began to patiently wait.

I waited, and waited, and waited….  The grand result of 8 days spent in the woods was a lot of time spent in the woods.  I saw two doe, both too small to be worth shooting.  I saw quail, woodpeckers, squirrels, chipmunks, rabbits, and other forest creatures, but my quest (this year) for deer turned out to be futile.

I’ve had an offer already to try hunting the late muzzle-loader season this year.  If that works out there may yet be hope for me.  If not, the quest will have to wait for another year.

Congratulations to those whose hunting stories have more success in them than mine.  Condolences to those who share my story.  Best wishes for a Merry Christmas season to all who have taken the time to read this.

God Bless,

David

From → This and That

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

