Skip to content

Small Business Spotlight – Economic Solutions

October 4, 2013

I have written several times about the problems with our economy.  I have tried to point out flaws in various plans that I have been made aware of.  I am totally opposed to the systematic government takeover of entire sectors of business (Obamacare and the healthcare industry).

However, I also remember telling others to do more than complain, to “Be the solution.”  It is my contention that we should do more than complain about the current state of affairs.  We should be actively trying to improve not only our own situation, but our surroundings as well.

What is the solution for our current economic woes?

I am not a trained economist.  I can’t tell you all the measures that should be taken to fix our economy.  There are a few things, however, that even I know.

  • I CAN tell you that America was once a manufacturing juggernaut, out-producing every other nation in the world by a comfortable margin.
  • I CAN tell you that we have shifted heavily to the “production” of luxuries and services.
  • I CAN tell you that no economy will thrive when based solely on the luxury and service markets.

So, in my opinion, we need to see a shift back to more of a production based economy.

In acknowledgement of this fact, I am going to do a series of posts highlighting small businesses I know of personally that are seeking to provide a unique quality product.

Why small business?

I believe that small (and growing) business has always been the engine of our economy.  Pilgrim families knew that their livelihood depended on the success of the family farm.  Trappers knew the value of each pelt they took, and carefully calculated how many furs they would need to buy salt, bullets, trade goods, and other supplies.  Early American entrepreneurs modeled the characteristics of thrift, efficiency, ingenuity, and innovation.  Men such as Benjamin Franklin, Henry Ford, Thomas Edison, and many more rose from humble beginnings with the application of these traits.

Now, in the midst of all the rancor against big business, big government, and the entitlement lifestyle, there is beginning a rebirth of the American Entrepreneur.  Men and women who are combine carefulness with opportunism, thrift with innovation, and determination with a willingness to dream.

These fine ladies and gentlemen, in my humble opinion, are being more than just “good citizens”.  They are affecting real change and being a part of the solution.

Thank you for taking the time to peruse my deliberations,

Dave.

A Quote for the Day

“Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work.” ~ Thomas Alva Edison

Thomas Alva Edison

Thomas Alva Edison (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 655 other followers

